top of page

Why my ultimate Dream is to Fly


My Dream of Becoming a Professional Flight Attendant Aurora Dawn

This a a large excerpt from one of my books before I put it into being published.

Please excuse any errs as I have bad eyes, even though I have glasses.

Table of Contents 1. Where it all began.- The Flight Attendants who inspired me 2. Why do I want to be a Flight Attendant with the best? 3. My Experiences which benefit me in the pursuit of this career 4. My Strengths and My challenge

Chapter 1 Where it all began

I remember my first plane ride as a 6 -7 year old fly by myself. It was on a huge 747, UAL from HNL to ORD. I fell in love with the feeling of takeoff, and landing. I loved the feeling of being in another world, above all else. The amazement of being in a flying aluminum tube for 8- 9 hours really filled me. At that time Flight Attendants were called Stewardesses. I like the term Flight Attendant better today. The wore muumuus back then for Hawaii flights. I remember one of the FAs taking me to the cockpit before flight, and how fascinated I was. I was sitting middle seat in the middle ugh, but the FAs ( Flight Attendants) made it bearable . As I grew up in Honolulu, I would cruise the airport from UAL, NWA, AA,Western, Delta and Hawaiian Air.etc. I was fortunate to be given a tour on various aircraft with UAL, and AA. During this time I joined the Civil Air Patrol for one- two years. Fell more in love with planes, and flying. Eventually got a job for a tour company, two of them to work at the gates greeting tourists. During this time I was able to be friend a UAL Flight Attendant who shared with me she even train ned new hire FAs. Her name was Sammy.

The Flight Attendants who inspired me Sammy, who also served as a Honolulu Police Officer was an amazing lady. She invited me out, and we went to swap meet, and had lunch. It was fun, and I was amazed how compassionate she was to befriend a teen ager. As a police officer too I was careful not to let her know of issues at home, the abuse etc. Mom would have killed me for saying anything. One summer age 15, in Aug the 22nd, yes still remember the date. I was flying on UAL Flight 1 to ORD from HNL. It was a early evening departure, which took us into overnight. As I and mom awaited the boarding to begin ( This was before 911 people could see one off at the gates then).. I saw the Flight Attendants come dressed in light blue muumuus, and Sammy. Wooowooooo. I was so happy we hugged, I introduced her to Sammy. They talked for a few minutes about where I was going, ( to CLE). As well as other things. My mom did think it was great I knew one of the crew. Well time to board, and have a seat. Loved the 747 rainbow colored. I was sitting over the wing, and loved it. I watch the FAs do demo , and watched them do a lot then. After take off sometime Sammy came over, and asked if I would like to help her out. I said wow, sure. Followed her all over. First she took me into the belly of the aircraft through the elevator. I got to see how food was heated up for service and all the carts. Amazing I wish I took pics, just did not think of it. Sammy now said we now need to get some carts moved so we went above. She had me stand by elevator help take out carts, yes big ones lol. She also had me help push cart down the aisle mine got stuck.

She was like elbow work and smiled she said it was all good and sometimes the carts will do that. After this after dinner she allowed me to help serve sodas, and coffee in one of the galley areas. I never forgot this, and today I still miss her.

Another Flight Attendant who inspired me was ; UAL FA I was flying from LAX to EWR. I had earlier the day just flew in from HNL to LAX, so it was a extremely long day.I was for the first time visiting my then alive father to see him face to face, I was adopted and they divorced a year later. Never saw him before the age of 14 or 15. I was going to stay with him for three weeks and then to CLE with Gram for 10 days. One of the FAs befriended me on this long flight, spent time just talking and listening. She was so kind and I apologized as I had gas. I was very embarrassed and like a mother she was very compassionate and encouraged me to hang around. We talked about me becoming a FA and later in the evening she asked if I wanted to help serve soda in her galley. This was a 757, one isle, and it was long. I had a seat by window towards back. I wish I remembered her name, had a pic of us but got lost with many others moving to Ohio. There was a cute boy 16 and he was from LAX. Now he also decided come in back and talk esp with me and she the FA encouraged me not to be shy LOL. I said you don’t understand I just had gas no perfume, except in luggage lol. It was an awesome flight, loved seeing the sunrise as we were close to EWR.

Here are a couple more recent wonderful experiences with Flight Attendants from AA. In 2000 Traveled to Jamaica for five months to be in a Missionary School. I needed to get up stretch my legs. It was a 767. I recall looking out the window a door as we flew near to Cuba/ One of the FAs came over gently placed her hand on me and said you know that is Cuba? I said I sort of figured, wow. Never been so close to a communist country before. We talked for a bit. From the time I stepped on board to when I deplaned I felt so welcomed, and valued on board. They FAs looked so happy to be flying. On April 6 2013 I was on AA 2079- 737-800 from BOS to ORD. The Flight Attendants working were Jenny, Susan, and Kim.I decided to bring my crew chocolates, and a lil letter why I respect them, and am inspired, and a thank you. Well they were so kind asked me back, and invited me to sit on the JS with one of them. I did have some questions I really wanted to ask, they answered, even my well some would say silly, they took me seriously. I will not forget them.

Also a DFW to Den flight, the crews made feel so welcomed, and they always seemed excited to have passengers aboard. It has made me want my wings more, and I could go on and on even a American Eagle flight, and others

Chapter 2 Why do I want to fly for the Best? American Airlines in 2013 has celebrated 80 years of Flight Attendant History. American has also been a company overcoming much and merging with US Air enabling major growth. A company with a great history, and a bright future. Professionals who have not forgotten their humanity and who truly care about the people they work with and serve, American has also been awarded- Mercado Names American "Most Admired Airline" American Airlines is also a melting pot of diversity, Hiring so many diverse individuals from various backgrounds and ethnicity. American operates around 3,500 flights daily, to over 250 cities to more than 40 countries around the world. Also they are best in safety s well. Who would not want to fly for American Airlines, People are their focus for without people there is no business. Maybe I do put some up high, I just admire AA and their FAs very much. American Eagle now Envoy representing AA in the air I also admire and love. I cannot go into detail but have been fortunate to have been to DFW, and gotten to know some of the people. They are professional at every level but also very compassionate, friendly and truly care for individuals, I have been on some of their flights in 2013, and Ill always remember their FAs as well especially one whose brother is in recruitment or training. Let’s just say he went to me above and beyond for me. Flight Attendants are in a position daily to make great impact on people, and inspire some of us. Yet often a thankless job, many do not understand it is a lot more than coming around and asking what you want to drink. They are responsible first for our safe journey, I can

tell you this for some after training they do not have a home right away, and often live in Crew pads, and hotels and it is the first year the hardest. In some interviews I went to in 2013, some carriers begin their Flight Attendants just at about 15 hr and are guaranteed 75 hrs a month. This does not include taxes and union dues, and monthly deduction of uniform costs, etc. To even think of being a Flight Attendant research, and understand it is not all easy and glamour, it is at times dangerous. Training can be eight and a half weeks- to as 3-4 weeks of intense study, testing, evaluations. They are strict in training to. Not for everyone. There are many great carriers, but not all can say they are American!

Chapter 3 My Experiences First some of my flight experiences throughout the years, and then I will share my professional experiences.

· From My Flight Experiences writing- Hawaiian Airlines It was in the early 1980s, we were on our way to Maui. Mom and I were taking a vacation for a week. On Oahu it was overcast, but still looked good for flying. It takes about 18-20 minutes from Honolulu to Maui. I was so excited to fly on Hawaiian, on the DC9. You can feel it all.

We got to the airport, and I loved the smell of the leis. I watched the crew board. Love the old uniform the flight attendants wore too. Everyone was pleasant. As we were flying off the coast of Maui, we hit severe turbulence. It was very bad. Aircraft wings were up and down, rolling side to side. I held moms hand while listening to screams. I watched the ocean, wondering for a moment or two if we were going to just fall from the sky. We found out later we were flying on the tail of a hurricane. It was so bad the one flight attendant I recall seeing her fly down the aisle. I was like omg . I have never seen this happen before, and never had a flight that severely hit in turbulence. I did not scream, nor cry I do not know why. I thought I recall, if I want to be a stewardess ( Yes at time it was stewardess) I cannot panic. I think thinking like that helped me to just stay calm, and having mom next to me,LOL.

Aloha Airlines Flying Aloha Airlines at 15 yrs of age, going to the Big Island to deliver one of our puppies which was six weeks old. They were so kind to let me have my poodle puppy by me, and yes she had to be in her container. Poor thing cried for part of the flight. She was safety delivered to new owner. They paid for me also to deliver her there to. On the way, rainbows from one Island to another, I was amazed at the beauty of being in the skies. I felt as if I were being watched over indeed.

One of my earlier memories, was when I was about 7-9 yrs of age. We were living in Hawaii, and had grams and family in Ohio. During summer vacation it was tradition for me to fly by myself to ORD, and then to CLE on UAL. I recall it was an evening Flt from HNL to ORD UAL Flt 1 or 2 Back then mom carried me on with gate agent, and I recall it was a 747. The flight attendants looked like they were gathered in a briefing. The gate agent asked who would like to take her, and all said they would ,LOLS. One hurried out to get me. I loved her dark blue floral muumuu, and her wings. I asked if I could visit cokpit, and she took me there. The pilot took me up on his lap. At night the cockpit looks like a decorated Christmas tree. In another of my writings on a another trip the Flight attendant covered my mouth and said shh, as I was asking a ton of questions as I watching them flip switches. I spit in her hand, and she gently smacked my mouth. The pilots loved it and laughed. The flight attendant not impressed ( I am so sorry now lol) I was a little girl though. Now this flight I recall feeling like I got punished. I did not get anything to eat, esp in the morning and smelling donuts. When you’re a kid, you do not hold grudges, and still loved flying, loved the flight attendants, and pilots. For most part I have been blessed to have always been treated like I was cared for, and important. I asked one flight attendant when I was 15 if she had an inflight joke which flight attendants shared. This is a joke she shared if I recall it all right………… “ A boy was on a fancy airplane, large fancy 747 flying by himself. He had to go to bathroom; got up, asked the flight attendant if he could use the bathroom. Now the men’s room was occupied,(This plane had men and ladies bathroom ok) so the FA told the boy ok, use this one. Please do not touch the ATR button ok sweety.He said ok. Well he did his business, flushed, pushed button for wipe, and powder poof for behind. Then he saw the ATR button, he remembered what the FA said, and still he was curious. He decided to push it……………. Next day in the hospital, the boy was healing. The flight attendant came to visit him ,and he was happy to see her. She said to him, I see you pushed the ATR, I am surprised, did mom not explain what ATR is? He said nooooooooooooo. She said ATR is automatic tampon remover.” LMAOS, and OUCHI!! See when you do not listen to Flight Attendants instruction Also for all reading, FAs enjoy chocolates, on a couple of my flights I gifted some. They are human beings who also feel good when shown appreciation and taken seriously. Their job is serious and hard work. Wings are not given out, but earned. FAs are not paid till plane pushes back- Passengers please listen and get situated asap. Everyone must be seated seat belts fastened etc before plane pushes back. You know when a FA asks for everyone to turn off devices, it is not an option, please do not make them beg you or keep repeating. Yes person next to me did this, and I finally said something in a nice way...did you know it is FAA reg to heed FAs instructions on that as well, and you can be removed from the plane if your not cooperating. They said really, ok thanks. They listened.

LOL The FAs said that and the message on the displays says something.Maybe I do love FAs to much, and they are people, but I aspire to be one, and I admire their work and dedication, and passion many still have.

· My professional Experience Since 2009 Ive been unemployed. Took some time off to visit friends, travel, and take care of mom after a fall. I also had developed online community and support groups servicing those in need. In 2013 I decided to actively seek becoming a FA, and in 2014 have also began freelance writing for myself,self publishing to inspire other women with dreams. I was a Customer service Rep for 3 years and before that a State tested nursing assistant or STNA or CAN for about 7 years-

How it began In January 2000, I went to a Missionary school in Jamaica for 5 months. When I returned to Ohio, I needed to get back to working for a living. Living in Northern Ohio can be great, but Ohio has lost many jobs. In some places it is like a ghost town. I recalled at one time I had done personal care at Our Lady of the Wayside in early 90s or late 80s,like 89. However I found out now one must be certified, trained, and tested. This is not easy, and the testing is no cakewalk. You are tested by the state. Well it took time, searching for the right place near to us, as well as opportunity. Some charged ,others did not. I ended up beginning at a nursing home, which also had classes, training, and certified there. It was November of 2000 when I began the classes. Time was from 830am- 430- 5pm. It also began with desire to care for those unable to care for themselves, to serve others who truly could not give back, and also to grow in developing more compassion for other people. I also have seen much of a lack of respect for the elderly in America. Japan honors their elders. In this I wished also to do. Teamwork IS a Must I cannot over emphasize this. There is no stars, or I in team. I have worked with some who just did not like me, I knew it as I knew they would come in back of me to find faults, as well as they never were friendly. However when it came to direct patient care I, and they knew we would put differences aside, and do what is best for our residence. Some of us actually ended up having mutual respect for one another even though we would never be friends. Key to safe work, safe residence is team. People are not stupid, if there is BS, turmoil among the workers, residence know,and feel. There is much I learned in this line of work. Some things I do wish turned out differently, things I could have done differently. However over all, I never regretted my experiences, both the good , the hard, the unfair. I know what it is to work doubles, to stay over. To work alone, and as a team. I know what it is like to have a very supportive nursing staff, most are wonderful. I also know what it is like to have some predujuices against me, and not be allowed to defend myself. To work under many who are so so great, and others who made my tummy turned when I went in. Yet I regret no experience as it has been my journey.

CNA Training and Certification The CNA training and CNA certification process usually takes 6-12 weeks and is often conducted in a community college or a medical facility. In Novemeber 2000 I was trained, and certified in 2001 in April in a nursing home, but agreed once certified I would remain with the home a full year before going with agency or elsewhere. There I almost made two years. The program includes a number of different topics such as Basic Nursing Skills, Infection control, Proper Body Mechanics, Nutrition, Basic anatomy and Physiology. The different courses are taught either by Registered Nurses or Licensed Practical Nurses. You will learn a lot of different skills and gain a lot of knowledge during the course of the training. There is also a required minimum 75 hours of clinical training, this is also known as Clinical Externship. You will learn a number of different skills during your training and this would include: Being able to get the patient’s vital signs, these include; heart rate, respiratory rate and blood pressure. Aside from being able to take patient’s vital signs you should also know how to print these off the computer in order to chart them properly. Since being a CNA means being in the front line when dealing with patients part of their training includes being able to communicate with patients and this communication can be verbal and non-verbal communication. Good bed side manners are extremely important in this job. Aside from being able to become a Certified Nursing Assistant in a short time another plus side in taking the required training and certification is that you can take the classes at your own convenience. This is because classes are available in the morning, in the evening or in the weekends. This is a big advantage to those of you who also have other opportunities and responsibilities to juggle in your life. After the training is over, there is usually an examination that follows, although this varies from state-to-state. For home health aides there is a national certification that is administered by the National Association for Home Care. The Residence/Patients Oh the many people you meet. Some made me laugh, crack up, listen, and cry. Some you just want to so embrace, others will challenge you daily. Each person is different, and the needs vary. Each has their own medical, and emotional issues. To do this job well, you need empathy. To be able to feel with others, to be able to look at things from another’s perspective. My first day on my own omg, I had an entire hallway about 18-20 residence I was responsible for on 2nd shift LOLS. The Nurses were awesome, and asked me do you still want to do this. I said I have not come this far and quit because of a lil adversity LOL We worked as a team. Each person I did not have to shower at all. The afternoon, evening went quickly. Actually I look at that now as my initiation LOLS. Later on I ended up working on the Alzheimer’s unit. I loved for a long while, even though daily we would get pinched, spit at ,and now and then bit. On a few occasions an aide would really get hurt. One man whi there was three of us caring for him for safety reasons. He got one it my teammate’s wrist, and cracked it. It is now permeably damaged. Most of the time it was not to bad. At the time for a while we had a great team, and did everything almost together where we could. FYI on Alzheimers, and dementia……. Each person reacts differently, meaning not everyone is combative. Many are not. Yes CNAs are trained to deal with combativeness. Under no circumstances is anyone allowed to be tied up or restrained, unless posing a danger, threat to themselves, or another resident. I had one man, a 1 assist on the charts who suddenly decided to put his hands round my neck and choke me. I yelled help, and was glad I could reach call button. I got help, and we dealt with him with no harm done to him. He calmed down. Some days were just as stressful, but others were easy. Every day was different.

If I could only have one thing my one dream- despite the mountain, obstacles, would be to attend one day AA FA training, to truly learn what it is to be part of the very best, to experience what it is like to slide down the slide, what is it like to get into a life raft in a timely manner. To learn to serve the business and first class traveler the very best and classy inflight service, to experience and get to know each aircraft, to provide each passenger a journey which they will want to come backfor. Id love even if because of my LD could not have this dream for my life, would love to experience a whole day in the life of a AA FA.

This is my heart, from one who does not naturally stand out above the rest. I have compassion, passion, dreams. I cannot put into any more words why my dream to be a FA, and especially with American. American flys above the rest and something about an Airline with American. Your not just a airline or business, AA is People, connecting to people all over.

Thank you for taking time to read this. Who knows I have either now made you all think I am nuts and on do not ever hire, or hope one day when the English only for FA position opens again Ill be granted an opportunity beyond the video J. Blessings Aurora is my online name Dawn Hrobak Septembersapphire21@gmail.com

Chapter 4 My Strengths and Challenges My pluses are a bright, positive personality great attitude, flexible, very dependable, and compassion I understand what it is to serve all kinds of people from various backgrounds and relate to them. I am single no children, am free to relocate. I am kind and know kindness takes one a long way., and a leader when I need to be. Ability to work

My challenge

I am analytically which drives some nuts

My weakness

What I am passionate about I give all I am and to my own huirt now and then

Which means sometimes I set my own self up for disappoinment if I do not achieve a goal, a job,etc

I also go above and beyond without recognition sometimes people say you just do to much which you do not need to.

ShareShare Why Being a Flight Attendant is my ultimate dream and professional goal

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page